Week … nevermind

Well, that was a bit of a bust, at least in the strictest sense. I did not finish Pretty Boy in 30 days. I got the introduction locked down and mapped out the first six chapters, but once I started to move forward I quickly realized that speed-writing was not going to work for Pretty Boy unless I made an absolute mess of it.

Now, that’s apparently the point of Nanowrimo: just write and clean up later. What that plan fails to recognize is that if you can’t move forward because you don’t know if your main character has an indoor toilet or an outhouse, there’s simply no moving forward.

This method worked fantastically for other genres I play in that don’t require one to spend 30 minutes staring at the cursor while wondering if the main character needs to go outdoors to use the toilet. I blazed through multiple novellas and short stories. But when I tried to apply the same method to Pretty Boy, I ultimately got frustrated and wandered off to play video games.

Lesson learned, which was a part of this experiment to begin with. Some books just can’t be written in 30 days and that’s OK.¬†Every book is different, and if I can write one in a week while it takes me three months to get to chapter five in another, that’s just how it goes. Rather than worry about it and beat myself up, I’m just rolling with it.

Author: amh

I'm a dabbler. I dabble.

Leave a Reply

